A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Incubus Dreams’ chapter five


I didn’t want to go back to the reception. First, I wasn’t in the mood to be merry. Second, I still didn’t know how to answer Arnet’s questions. Third, Micah made me promise I’d dance with him. I hated to dance. I didn’t think I was good at it. In the privacy of our home, Micah, Nathaniel, and hell, Jason, had told me I was wrong. That I actually danced very well. I did not believe them.

Well, you should. You’re the Sue, so you do everything well. Also, here’s a thing: if Micah won’t accept a ‘no’ over something as small as a dance, then he sure as hell ain’t going to take a no over anything else. Ditch him. Ditch him now.

And Jason is at the reception. I have no idea why. Wasn’t Anita so worried about her reputation in the last few chapters? Honey, bringing three men, two of whom are well known as strippers, as your dates to a wedding doesn’t exactly decrease your reputation. Anita goes on about how JC dresses all his people as if they were all his own personal toys and how JC owns a strip club.

I had let Micah and Nathaniel go shopping with Jason for dress clothes, and I footed the bill for my two boys. It had been outrageous, but I couldn’t let Jean-Claude be nicer to his kept men than I was to mine. Could I?

Says the woman who bitched about having to buy a pair of shoes. Let them pay for themselves!

Technically, Micah wasn’t a kept man, but the salary he drew from the Coalition for Better Understanding Between Lycanthrope and Human Communities –

Laughing tennant

I’m sorry, but that is a horrendous fucking name. Like, that is words that have just been shoved together. Why not just The Shapeshifter Council? How can you fail at writing so much?

– didn’t cover designer suits. I made enough money to pay for designers, so I did.

Yet not enough money to get a tuxedo that actually fits you and your body shape. Interesting that Anita’s partners are making her buy them expensive gifts. Seems a bit abusive. Anita stares at Micah.

The suit fit him like a roomy glove.

YOU ARE BAD WITH WORDS

Also Micah is wearing sunglasses indoors.

Micah and Anita then start groping each other pretty… well, it’s pretty full on in public. They’re essentially grinding all over each other, and it’s not that late and people aren’t drunk enough yet for it to be that part of the wedding reception. Anita then gets frowny face because she ‘suspected him of lying to me, not about anything in particular, but about nearly everything. He was too perfect’.

No, he’s an abusive asshole who raped you. He’s not perfect. Get rid of him.

He drew away enough to see my face clearly. He let his puzzlement show. ‘What have I done now?’

I shook my head. ‘That’s the problem, you haven’t done anything, nothing wrong anyway.’

He did rape you. That was pretty wrong.

Even I knew I was being silly, but I couldn’t seem to help it. He was too perfect, so I had to poke at it. Our relationship worked too well, so I had to see if I could break it.

Have we ever actually seen them being all relationshippy? We’ve barely seen them interact at this point, and now we’re being told that they are just sooooooooo perfect together? Pffffft give me a break.

Anita whines about how she feels nothing about Charlene’s death. That plot kernel that Anita has never fucking minded until this point but she’s now suddenly concerned about.

“You have to divorce yourself from your emotions, or you can’t do your job.”

I nodded. “Yeah, but once I had to work at it. Now I don’t.”

Bullshit. Not caring always came without effort because you don’t care about anyone or anything save yourself. Micah says that everything in Anita’s life is perfect, why is she bitching? She thinks about the Chimera and how totally nuts that guy was and this means Micah is totally full of pain.

Again, Anita can only love someone who is (supposedly) broken and damaged and in need of ‘fixing’. This… this is worrying. That sounds like a huge abuser, picking people who are ‘weak’ to prey on.

Sometimes you fight what you are, and sometimes you give in to it. And some nights you just don’t want to fight yourself anymore, so you pick someone else to fight.

Sure, whatever.

3 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Incubus Dreams’ chapter five

  1. “I didn’t think I was good at it. In the privacy of our home, Micah, Nathaniel, and hell, Jason, had told me I was wrong. That I actually danced very well. I did not believe them.”

    Yeah, I’m not buying the faux-humility, Hamilton. Just like I can’t buy Anita’s “oh, I’m not that pretty” bullshit when practically everyone with a penis (and several without) are constantly throwing themselves at her.

    “I had let Micah and Nathaniel go shopping with Jason for dress clothes, and I footed the bill for my two boys. It had been outrageous, but I couldn’t let Jean-Claude be nicer to his kept men than I was to mine. Could I?”

    What? How much money does Anita make? Considering she *barely* does her actual job as is, and I doubt the Marshal Service pays that well (and probably doesn’t pay her a full salary anyway), I’m forced to conclude that this is all JC’s money.

    “Coalition for Better Understanding Between Lycanthrope and Human Communities”

    Seriously? That’s the name you’re going with?

    Then again, the way LKH describes how they operate, this is basically a therianthrope crime syndicate. So having an overly-long, good-sounding name makes a semi-decent cover.

    “The suit fit him like a roomy glove.”

    So… poorly? Gloves aren’t supposed to be “roomy”, Hamilton.

    “Have we ever actually seen them being all relationshippy? We’ve barely seen them interact at this point, and now we’re being told that they are just sooooooooo perfect together?”

    It kinda reminds me of LKH’s repeatedly posting on her blog about how ~amazing~ and ~perfect~ her life is now. I can’t help but think that she’s in denial over something.

    “You have to divorce yourself from your emotions, or you can’t do your job.”

    Dude, stop encouraging Anita’s sociopathic tendencies. If you *really* cared, you’d also be concerned about this. But no, this is LKH, and she thinks emotions are for the weak, and being a complete sociopath is totes sexxay.

    “She thinks about the Chimera and how totally nuts that guy was and this means Micah is totally full of pain.”

    Isn’t there a trend of abuse victims becoming abusers? Does that only apply to children?

    • – You can tell she’s not pretty by the fact that she’s conventionally attractive! Her humility is supposed to be her character flaw, presumably in an attempt to distract us from all the other ones.

      – JC is pimpin’ with his one strip club and one dance club and no land or stocks or any sort of actual things with worth, but I think Anita is on some huge retainer with Bert? She has magic money that appears when she needs it.

      – LKH she book write good.

      – I did throw around the idea that Richard was with the mob because he too has insane amounts of convenient money… more anti-fan theories!

      – Anita is not only being abused but she is also simultaneously abusing her abusers. This all makes my head hurt.

  2. C-BUBLaHC. It sounds like a rare medical condition.
    …I have no idea where I’m going with this, but LKH has no idea where she’s going with any of her writing, so I fit in fine!

Leave a Reply

