A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Cerulean Sins’ chapter sixty one


It’s freaking thirty four degrees rn in Lincolnshire. I am not happy with this heat. I don’t do heat very well.

Pictured: Dottie

Anita, strangely enough, is feeling so goshdarned bad about what she did. She’s snuggling into a stuffed toy and into Micah because she’s feeling bad about killing a man in a horrible way in front of a load of children.

You fucking should.

Bradley/Bradford calls.

“You made national news, and the Post-Dispatch is running a front-page picture of you executing Van Anders,” Bradley said.

“Yeah, turns out I was across from a camera store. Lucky me.”

… cameras in shop windows don’t automatically take pictures. I’m guessing the images either come from CCTV or from the phones of the people unfortunate enough to watch – maybe? It’s 2003, did picture phones exist? I can’t remember! *quick google fu* They were first sold in 2000 and ‘By 2003, more camera phones were sold worldwide than stand-alone digital cameras’. So, yeah, it’s probably not those magical cameras in the camera shop taking those pictures Anita.

“He needed killing, Anita.”

“I know that.”

“Then what’s that tone in your voice?”

“You haven’t got to the part of the article where the three-year-old boy is having screaming fits about me killing him, like he saw me do the bad man in the mall, have you?”

To be fair, it’s not as if that little boy is wrong. You were perfectly happy to kill him. And aren’t there going to be any consequences for Anita’s actions? I can’t imagine that the DOC for Missouri are especially happy with the nation becoming aware of they have a blatant serial killer working for them.

Bradley/Bradford then conveniently wraps up that dead ancestor plotline THAT WAS PROMISED ON THE BLURB. Basically, he was trying to recruit Anita to raise some president of whatever country. There was me thinking that this was supposed to be ‘some secret to an ancient crime’. I’ll give LKH credit, she can write a good blurb. Perhaps she should go into writing sales copy.

“Thanks for checking, Bradley.”

“Don’t thank me, Anita, if I hadn’t tried to get you onto our pay roll as a federal agent, you might never have come to the attention of whoever hired Heinrick.”

Yeah, sure, whatever. I’m pretty sure it was all those millions of other things that Anita’s done over the years that attracted the attention of all these murders. She fit in with them very well.

Nathaniel then comes into the room, and snuggles in with Anita and Micah, because they’re all going to be a famwy and read Charlotte’s Web together.

Anita is treating her sexual partners like they are children, and she’s their mum.

Look, unless this is some kind of ageplay stuff, that’s pretty fucking disturbing. Ew. I feel all gross now. Even more than I did from the heat.

2 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Cerulean Sins’ chapter sixty one

  1. “It’s freaking thirty four degrees rn in Lincolnshire.”

    I did the conversion from metric, and I can sympathize (I live in Georgia – the US state, not the former Soviet Republic), and have been dealing with similar temperatures for the past few weeks. And on top of that, it’s been raining every few days, so not only is it hot, but it’s humid too. Ugh.

    “Anita, strangely enough, is feeling so goshdarned bad about what she did. She’s snuggling into a stuffed toy and into Micah because she’s feeling bad about killing a man in a horrible way in front of a load of children.”

    I’ll let Mr. Pink express how sympathetic I feel:

    “I’m guessing the images either come from CCTV or from the phones of the people unfortunate enough to watch”

    The store might have had cameras hooked up to TVs in the front window display. It wouldn’t surprise me.

    “You haven’t got to the part of the article where the three-year-old boy is having screaming fits about me killing him, like he saw me do the bad man in the mall, have you?”

    Gee, you know how you could have avoided potentially scarring this boy for life? EVACUATING THE MALL BEFORE GOING AFTER THE GUY.

    “I’ll give LKH credit, she can write a good blurb. Perhaps she should go into writing sales copy.”

    I can’t help but feel that that’s mostly what she does now – write a blurb/pitch, scrape out a few chapters dealing with the proposed plot, then goes right back to doing what she’s been doing for several books.

    So, ultimately, the whole reason for Anita being upset by what she did was not for her to realize how she’s changed, but to have a bunch of men comfort her and assure her that she did the right thing and isn’t a complete monster. Why am I not surprised.

    • It’s pretty humid here too and humid heat is the worst heat. I’m just not built for heat and I don’t live in a country where things are prepared for high temperatures.

      I concur with Mr Pink.

      She should move into advertising, she does a really good job of producing sales pitches (but not on handling PR. Dear God, keep her away from PR.)

      Of course she’s not a monster. She… hasn’t got monster horns, so that means she’s A-OK.

Leave a Reply

