A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Cerulean Sins’ chapter forty one


Whoops, sorry! Real life’s been kind of taking up all my time – I’m on a AET course, I’m going on holiday next week, my father’s been in hospital, and I’ve been working on a few other writing projects. Sorry, I just let the blog slide. Whoops.

Ok, plot recap. Anita is a big poophead and nothing makes sense. That about covers it.

Bobby Lee, hick bodyguard extraordinaire, is waiting for Anita at the doors of the Circus of the Damned. His mood is ‘not shiny’. I have no idea what that fucking means. Anita whines that the police didn’t believe her obvious lies that all her murderous bodyguards are her ‘deputies’.

I filled him in on what I’d learned at the police department while we walked down the nearly endless steps that led from the storeroom to the lower parts of the Circus of the Damned. The stairs were wide enough for four people to walk abreast, but the steps themselves were oddly spaced, as if whatever they were originally carved for wasn’t very human. They definitely had not been made for bipeds.

… but JC had the Circus of the Damned built. He’s a biped. This is a place for vampires as well as werewolves. Why would he build stairs that he can’t use? Except that bipeds clearly can use them, as YOU ARE WALKING DOWN THEM ANITA.

“I don’t know the name Heinrick,” he said.

I looked at him, so suddenly, that I stumbled, and he caught my arm. I realized in that moment that I didn’t know that much about Bobby Lee, not really. “You work for Rafael, you can’t be a white supremacist.”

That – that’s come out of nowhere. I think I got whiplash.

“Honey-child, I know white supremacists that specialize in hating people a little darker than Rafael.”

“Real Southerners don’t say honey-child.”

He grinned at me. “They do if you Northern bastards expect it.”

“We’re in Missouri, that ain’t exactly north.”

“It is where I came from.”

no brains

I have literally no idea what this conversation has to do with anything. This is 100% cardboard filling. Anita asks how Bobby Lee how he knows that bad things are going to happen if he doesn’t know the terrorists. I say this is incredibly stupid as ANITA was the one running around in fear of an imminent terrorist attack on the city. Bobby Lee says how this is obviously all aimed at Anita, which is far, and Anita is surprised by this.

THEY WERE STALKING YOU. HOW CAN YOU IGNORE THAT?

Anita asks about people who are not connected to the government, *wink wink*, because she’s thinking that Edward will solve this situation. Oh god, no. He will not solve anything. Bobby Lee says that JC and Asher have requested Anita’s presence because they owe her an apology or something.

The apology probably involves their dicks.

Man, this chapter was pointless.

8 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Cerulean Sins’ chapter forty one

  1. ““I don’t know the name Heinrick,” he said.

    I looked at him, so suddenly, that I stumbled, and he caught my arm. I realized in that moment that I didn’t know that much about Bobby Lee, not really. “You work for Rafael, you can’t be a white supremacist.””

    If this were any other author, I’d think something got lost in the editing process. But this is LKH, so we know that’s obviously not the case.

    ““We’re in Missouri, that ain’t exactly north.”

    “It is where I came from.””

    There’s a very simple way to answer this question – how is tea supposed to be served?

    If your answer is on ice and with lots of sugar, then you’re from the South. If your answer is anything else, you’re from somewhere else.

    And I’m also wondering what the point of this chapter was. But again, that’s what editing is for – so pointless chapters like this one don’t make it to the published novel.

  2. I think I vaguely recall that the whole Heinrick thing was that the fact Bobby Lee said he didn’t know the name meant that he was familiar with these hired douchebags, and would thus be a white supremacist.

    Sweet tea is also the devil’s drink. That stuff is horrible. However, the idea that anyone would call a former slave state “northern” just breaks my logic center.

    • I might not be the a huge fan of sweet tea, but them’s fightin’ words.

      Also, just because Missouri is a former slave state doesn’t make it “southern”. There were a few slave states that didn’t leave the Union. That’s why it took a constitutional amendment to end slavery in the US – the Emancipation Proclamation only applied to states “outside” the Union.

  3. Hc didn’t build the circus, he inherited it when he took over as master of the city. The circus is built over a system of natural caves/tunnels that have been shaped a bit for human use (I guess the plumbers had fun fitting in that bath etc lol). That’s why there is hanging drapes everywhere 🙂 Either way it sounds rediculous when you consider the plumbing/huge baths/extensive gym and every other stupid thing she’s put in the circus. They get into that a bit in the first book, she has Anita crawling through smaller tunnels to get to the living quarters.

Leave a Reply

