A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Cerulean Sins’ chapter twenty two


Sorry for the extended break. Been a bit busy, seeing as I have a new nephew just arrived and all. And I might have gotten into Highlander, the TV series. It’s all up on youtube and it’s so goofy and wonderful and ridiculous. It’s fun! Genre fiction doesn’t have to be so goshdarned concerned with angst all the time.

I was floating in water, warm, warm water. Arms held me in place, a man’s body brushed against mine in the water.

Why is the solution to every problem PUTTING ANITA IN A BATH? Also: getting into a bath with a naked woman when you’re a naked man when she’s unconscious is super skeevy.

Of course, it’s Micah. You all know that my theory is that he’s a supreme manipulator of women who goes around inserting himself into their lives, abusing them, using them for all they’re worth, making them dependant on him before going onto the next target. So, yeah, this fits. God, he’s such a scuzzball.

Anita goes into raptures about his eyes.

His eyes were kitty-cat eyes. I’d originally thought they were yellow green, but they were yellow, or green, or any combination of either, depending on his mood, the light, the color of shirt he wore.

How did shapeshifters stay hidden throughout history if they went around looking partially like animals? Anita tries to ask why she was so ill but then they start rubbing each other and Anita starts screaming.

I don’t know if it was the pain, the pleasure, the beasts, or all of it together, but suddenly I could think again. Suddenly, I knew why I’d been sick all day.

Your massive blood loss? That’s what I know it was.

I felt that long metaphysical cord that bound me to Jean-Claude, saw him in his bed at the Circus of the Damned with Asher still beside him. There was a shadow sitting on Jean-Claude’s bare chest, a dark shape. The longer I looked at it, the more solid it became, until it turned a misshapen face to me, snarling, and showed me eyes burning with dark honey flame.

I looked at the hungry shadow of Belle Morte’s power that had been trying to leech ‘life’ from Jean-Claude all day. But the Master Vampire’s fail-safe systems had kicked in – his human servant, and probably his animal to call. Richard had refused to help us directly, but he was probably paid the price for it today.

The thing hissed at me again, like some great demonic car, and I decided to treat it like one. I threw my beast down the long line of metaphysical cord. What I hadn’t planned for was that Micah’s beast would follow mine, that when we attacked it would be together, ripping the thing to smoky tatters. It fled through the wall.

…..

……. what the fuck. I HATE METAPHSYICAL MAGIC BECAUSE HAMILTON NEVER FUCKING EXPLAINS WHAT’S GOING ON! Is it like a witch’s familiar? Is it an influence? BM has been feeding on Anita all day but she’s been feeling bad since Asher ripped a chunk from her neck! ARRGRHRHRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

Anita phones the Circus and gets the human servants to put crosses on the doors. That’ll show them. Micah and Anita then talk about how she can’t keep feeding the ardeur on Nathaniel. Micah whines that she slept with Asher because he’s an asshole. They complain about how Richard dumped Anita because he’s a meanie and isn’t darkity dark.

Well, at least that was brief. Time for more Highlander!

3 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Cerulean Sins’ chapter twenty two

  1. You know, Highlander has been on hulu for years now. Then again, watching it there means having to deal with hulu.

    And I’m just as confused by the whole metaphysical/spirit-animal stuff, too. When you get infected with a particular strand of therianthropy, do you suddenly have an animal spirit living inside you? But for some reason, you can send it out of your body? How does that work?

    And of course, Anita manages to save they day, without even having to get dressed, or (from a certain perspective) actually do anything. Because spectral evidence (which is what I’m seeing here) doesn’t count, and hasn’t counted since the late 17th century.

Leave a Reply

