A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Narcissus in Chains’ chapter fifty three


My whole house smells like fried chicken. I live above a KFC and I’ve had all my windows open, so every room smells finger lickin’ delicious. I bet there’s a room in Hell just like that, only you can never get outside.

Anita and Bobby Lee walk through to some place where there are coffins. We’re actually rescuing Damian, that half-baked subplot that never seemed to go anywhere. She states at the coffins.

“Which one is your boy?” Bobby Lee asked.

I shook my head. “Don’t know.”

“I thought you were supposed to be this boy’s master.”

“That’s the theory.”

“Then shouldn’t you be able to tell which box is which?”

I glanced at him, gave a small nod. “Point.”

Pointing out the holes in your plot doesn’t make you a smart or clever author. It means you’re a lazy, terrible writer.

Anita stares at the coffins some more. She puts her hand on one of them and something bangs inside it. She jumps and then remembers she’s a fucking necromancer. She finds out where he is.

I said a quick prayer, and I didn’t even feel odd praying to God about a vampire. I’d had to give up my narrow ideas of God a long time ago, or give up church and everything I held dear about my religion. The deal was, if God was okay with what I was doing, then I had to be, too.

Leviticus 19:31

“Do not turn to mediums or necromancers; do not seek them out, and so make yourselves unclean by them: I am the Lord your God.”

I like casually pointing these out. But, anyway, they’re going to find Damian.

I didn’t approve of torture.

No.

no

You’ve tortured a lot of people, Anita. Don’t even go there with me.

Anita goes to the other coffin and works out that it’s not Damian. Congrats. JC swans in and Anita is distracted from her horror of torture –

laugh (2)

– sorry that will never not be funny, the idea of Anita with morals. Anyway, Micah’s getting dressed and now Anita wants to know who’s in the other coffin. It’s Gretchen, right? The woman abused by JC and shoved into a coffin for good measure? But knowing that would require Anita to have the brains of a frog, so we have a long, drawn out bit of the righteous Anita wanting to know what’s in the box. JC explains this but Anita still doesn’t understand that Gretchen has been in the box since The Lunatic Cafe. Anita is unhappy about Gretchen being in the box for three years.

Nope, not even close.

Anita freaks out because omg torturrrr. Anita is then upset because Damian has lost his mind and…. stuff. His mind has faded or something, I don’t care. JC says that Gretchen is even worse and Anita thinks they should let her out. Or kill her. She wants to let Damian out so JC will have a bath run.

Of course.

Anyway, they can’t let them both out because JC… just doesn’t want to. Or doesn’t have enough power or some bullshit. Anita points out that Asher can help but that’s bad because he’s upset and you just can’t trust him. He points out that Asher’s pissed because he can’t have a relationship with JC – a man he has loved for centuries, but has now pulled out NO HOMO on him except when Anita approves of some man-on-man action – and JC says he would like to be in a physical relationship with Asher, if Anita wasn’t so homophobic about it all.

But he won’t ever show Asher physical affection because they couldn’t do it in public because it would hurt anita despite the fact she’s ok with it with micah arghahahahaahahaha i hate this

Anita is upset.

I have no idea what is going on or why this is even a book.

5 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Narcissus in Chains’ chapter fifty three

  1. Anita’s ideas about religion are interesting, and I say that as an athiest. On the one hand, I do agree with the idea that churches really shouldn’t have a “my way or the high way” role in regards to people’s religion, since Jesus pretty well said it didn’t matter if you stood in a building and prayed, and lots of churches twist scripture anyway. On the other, the Bible is (arguably, obviously) the Word of God as Handed Down Through the Ages and a Couple of Bored Men in Robes Who Couldn’t Get Laid Who Felt Like Mistranslating a Few Things, and Anita being a necromancer and a Christian is obviously problematic.

    Then again, she’s said (and probably forgotten) that she can’t just stop raising the dead, because she’d do it unconsciously as her power leaked out, so….maybe she should become Shinto.

    • I think LKH shouldn’t have a religious character when she patently doesn’t want to put any thought into it. Anita being religious could be a really interesting thing, but it just comes off as being so self righteous, especially with all the ‘God personally approves of everything I do’ schtick.

      • Well, on a different level, when you remember Anita is basically Laurell’s avatar, it’s interesting (in a sideshow way) to see how she’s basically trying to argue she’s still Christian when she really isn’t. I don’t know if she’s gotten to the point Laurell has (where she seems to be a calendar Wiccan of some sort), but it’s pretty obvious that she’s in denial about her religion vs her faith. They clearly don’t mesh anymore.

Leave a Reply

