Dottie Recommends: ‘The Rook’


This book has been one of my favourite discoveries of the year. I devoured it over three days, and I really, really think all of you should go out and buy it right now. Like, now. Do it.

The Rook, to me, is the spiritual successor to Harry Potter. Now, ‘the next Harry Potter’ gets thrown around a lot as a phrase, but it never means exactly what parts of the series appealed to me. I liked the drama, I liked the characters, I liked the amazing world building and potential presented, I liked the dialogue, I liked the humour, and most of all, I liked how it was presented in such a way as to make it all totally believable and that I simply lived on the fringes of the world presented in the pages. The Rook has all those things.

Myfanwy Thomas wakes up in a London park, surrounded by bodies wearing latex gloves. She has no memory, no knowledge, no recollection of any life or any existence before this moment. She has a letter – a letter from her former self. She is part of The Checquy, a supernatural agency protecting Britain from paranormal forces. And someone – or something – attacked her from inside the organisation. She has to find out who is leading the conspiracy, be seen to live her life as the old Myfanwy Thomas, and maybe save the world a few times.

The Rook is fantastic, and for all of you who’ve been burnt by the problems of LKH’s world building and pacing, this is the perfect cure.

2 thoughts on “Dottie Recommends: ‘The Rook’

  1. I’m very behind on reading your reviews and even forgot where I was 😉 but I’ll check this book out. I just found it on Amazon for the kindle so I’ll get that 🙂

Leave a Reply

