A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘The Killing Dance’ chapter twenty seven


Running full tilt towards a fight was not the best way to stay alive. Caution was better. I knew that, and it didn’t matter. Nothing mattered but getting there in time.

You’re not running for the bus, Anita. You are running towards a very angry wolf pack which may or may not be determined to kill you. She always goes on about how much she knows about fights, and yet she always does the worst possible thing she could do.

Anyway, she gets lost inside the building – don’t ask me how – and then comes into a room brimming with angry zombies and giant, impossible sized wolves. Well, conservation of mass and all that I guess that a human would come out as a larger than average sized wolf, but damnit, I like my werewolves looking like regular, run of the mill wolves!

JC stands on the side-lines while Richard runs right into all the zombies. JC apparently managed to build the Circus on top of a very full cemetery. I guess it’s meant to be Little Miss Nikky’s graveyard, but I like to think he literally streamrolled a public graveyard and built this monstrosity on top.

The dead stood in front of the ruins. Their eyes shifted to me as I saw them, and I felt the weight of their gaze like a blow to my heart.

They’re trying to say be more careful next time you engage in magical POWER makeouts. They’ve been shot to the heart, and you’re to blame. You give love a bad name.

It would appear that the wolf army Anita was sure was coming to kill her is just the werewolves at the Circus trying to fend off the hugs and cuddles of the undead. Nice going, Anita. You almost got everyone killed. Again.

The guilt must warp Anita’s mind as she starts screaming at the wolves for hurting ‘my zombies’ and saying that this unwarranted attack must stop here. God forbid that the wolves try and defend themselves from all the zombies you forced to rise. Nasty, vicious werewolves.

Shit, I’d forgotten. I was their lupa now.

Yes, and?

I’d threatened to kill Raina if she hurt Stephen again, and here I was about to feed him to zombies.

What??

It was ridiculous to get mad at the wolves. But you actually started threatening to kill them over this? (Or thought you did, anyhow). What is wrong with you?

There was a logic gap somewhere.

YOU DON’T SAY.

”If I’m supposed to protect you all, then you have to obey me, right? So Jason gets the fuck off my zombie or I beat the hell out of him. Isn’t that pack protocol?”

Why are you so angry at Jason (other than for him generally being an asshole) when all he was doing was stopping himself from being killed by zombies? The zombies you raised and didn’t give a shit about, Anita? And why are they ‘your’ zombies? Don’t they belong to themselves? I call for the Zombie Liberty Movement, in support of zombie rights!

/Richard turned to me. There was a look on his face I’d never seen before: anger and arrogance, or something close to it.

Must be like looking in a mirror.

Richard is furious that Anita doesn’t care that she almost let a bunch of his wolves get eaten by zombies, Anita finally remembers that she can control them (oh yeah I’M AN ANIMATOR DUH), and JC sits and stirs shit from the side-lines because I’ve yet to see him ever intervene in a situation.

Richard orders Jason to stop doing things, but Jason, as an asshole, doesn’t listen. Richard howls, which is hilarious from a grown-man, and everyone is howling and at each other’s throats. Once again, Anita and JC’s presence is like drenching a dry forest with petrol.

Jason and Richard stop scrapping, letting Anita add in how angry she is as well. Spitting pissed over the mess you made, Anita. It’s your own damn fault. Again. Jason’s response is to try and kill her – which I am not blaming him for, just this once – so she pulls out a gun that she didn’t have on her and threatens to kill him. Again.

If you consider yourself friends with a woman who attempts to kill you each time you get angry over what she’s done to you, you probably aren’t really friends.

After they circle each other for a while, Richard says that no, Anita cannot be the new Raina. It would defeat the whole purpose of why they are killing Marcus in a bloody battle but leaving Raina, who is evil and sadistic, free to do whatever she wants.

JC laughs. You know, if he wasn’t such a rapey arsehole, he’d almost be an interesting trickster anti-hero. But because LKH is following Ye Olde Formula for Half-Assed Romantic Plot, he’s the romantic hero.

Anita is cross at being told that she’s coming close to being an evil, but feminine, woman.

”Lead, and I’ll follow, Richard.” I stepped close to him, almost touching. “But lead, Richard, really lead, or get out of my way.”

Why should he get out of your way? You’ve only got hierarchy in the pack through him. You can’t assume power without him. You are not a werewolf.

This chapter is very repeaty, like bad Mexican food. It also should have been included with the last chapter. It was pointless to seperate them, other than as a cheap ploy to make the book longer.

3 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘The Killing Dance’ chapter twenty seven

  1. You know… I’m almost starting to feel bad for Richard again. She keeps telling him to take charge, but never what she means by that. Then she gets mad at him if he becomes violent and starts abusing people, but also gets mad at him if he doesn’t. Mixed messages are uncool, woman.

Leave a Reply

