A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘The Killing Dance’ chapter twenty two


JC and Anita walk into his wonderful bedroom, which is decorated in black and white too. These rooms really need some colours.

JC throws himself down on the bed and um –

He should stop making my job easier.

He’s laying around in wait while Anita freshens up in the bathroom he’s had built for her. Apparently, werewolves never need to pee and vampires never need to shower. The bathroom is white and black and Anita thinks about how tired she is, realising that she really needs some sex.

Yeah, when I’m tired all I think of is having sex.

Seemed pretty tacky to have sex for the first time in your other boyfriend’s bed.

It is.

Although she is tired, Anita obsessively checks her makeup in the mirror and decides to freshen it.  Again, when I am tired, what I really like to do is spend twenty minutes touching up my makeup. But no, Anita decides against it as it would give JC the impression that she cares. Not that it’s stupid.

Anita then goes on a massive talk about her mother. Oh, joy. More unresolved maternal issues from the author, poorly added into the narrative as an excuse for character depth.

“Ma petite, you are beautiful.”

I shook my head. “Pretty, I’ll give you, but not beautiful.”

“Who told you you were not beautiful?”

BLARGH. Doubled up words annoy me when they can be avoided.

I leaned against the door. “When I was a little girl, my father would come up behind my mother. He would wrap his arms around her waist, bury his face in her hair, and say, ‘How is the most beautiful woman in the world today?’ He said it at least once a day. She would laugh and tell him not to be silly, but I agreed with him. To me, she was the most beautiful woman in the world.”

“She was your mother. All little girls think that of their mother.”

“Maybe, but two years after she died, Dad remarried. He married Judith, who was tall and blond and blue-eyed, and nothing like my mother. If she had really believed my mother was the most beautiful woman in the world, why did he marry some Nordic ice princess? Why didn’t he marry someone small and dark like my mother?”

Unless Judith was born Julian, she’s blonde.

“I don’t know, ma petite,” he said quietly.

“Judith had a daughter only a couple of years younger than me. Then they had Josh together and he was as blond and blue-eyed as the rest of them. I looked like a small dark mistake in the family photos.”

“Your skin is almost as pale as mine, ma petite.”

“But I have my mother’s eyes and hair. My hair isn’t brunette, it’s black –

… and that’s a problem because….

– A woman once asked Judith once in front of me if I was adopted. Judith said, no, I was from her husband’s first marriage.”

Oh, I see. Judith was supposed to throw herself down on the ground and cry out how she was utterly unworthy of being in your family and that she was worthless compared to the blessed, perfect angel that was your mother.

Look, this is supposed to be some sort of tragic look into Anita’s psyche and we’re supposed to feel sorry for her, but all I hear is the embittered whine of a small child.

WAAA WAAAA SOMEONE REPLACED MY MOTHER AND DIDN’T PAY ME ATTENTION WAAAAAA

I can feel sympathy for her situation. I remember when my mum started dating my stepdad. I was horribly jealous of the attention he got from my mother and hated him for being where I saw my dad should be. But I got over it. I realised that I was just angry and upset from the separation of my parents and was transferring it onto Paul. We get along great now. I was an angry child, but I got over it a long time ago. Admittedly, my father didn’t die so the comparison falls a little short, but she’s twenty four. She needs to grow up.

JC then worms into the situation by saying how he’s never desired another woman the way he desires her. He kisses her, but Anita says no. JC then whines and pouts about how he’s been good for so long and how it’s unbearable to want her and be denied. Honestly, they’re kind of perfect for each other. They both have the same level of maturity.

He says that he loves her, and that she obviously doesn’t love Richard as she hasn’t asked JC to leave them alone.

“Last time we had this talk, you said you’d kill Richard.”

“If that is all that is stopping you, ma petite, have no fear. I will not kill Richard merely because you go to his bed and not mine.”

ARGHH

ARTGHOFLKFDKJSDF[SFRSDFFSDFFFF

YOU COCKY COCK MOTHERSUCKER LORD OF COCK

And you decided to not tell Anita that you’ve very generously stopped blackmailing here because…

JC is supporting Richard, so he can’t kill him now. How very convenient.

Well, he says that killing Richard would hurt Anita, so he’s not going to do it. Whatever. He then wheedles about how Richard is totes bad and I just want to slap him. Jason has been telling him of what Anita and Richard have been doing and how it’s not fair that he did that and JC can’t.

“But have no fear. Forcing myself upon you in such a way would smack of rape. I have never been interested in such things.”

That sounds like a defence against criticism levied about how blackmailing a woman into sex is rape.

JC then proves his words by backing her into a corner, forcing her to kiss him, and saying how much she doesn’t love Richard. This doesn’t read as sexual assault AT ALL.

Then Richard walks in. Remind me, why hasn’t he left Anita? I’d have left her by now. Then, I’d be a bit confused as to how we got together.

Richard is a bit wolfy as the full moon is tomorrow and this is the very worst time to catch his girlfriend in the arms of her abuser. Hmm.

Anita promises that nothing happened, and that JC doesn’t even know what kind of hosiery she’s got on. JC then makes comments about how she’s obviously wearing crotchless tights.

Are crotchless tights even a thing?

Yes, they would appear to be, although I have no idea why. Just wear stockings and a garter belt, I don’t see the point in having a pair of tights with a small hole in the crotch unless you are in the sex industry.

JC then leans back and plays with his nipples. Unsurprisingly, this does not help with Richard’s anger. Anita begs Richard to not do anything stupid but Richard leaps upon JC to stop him from groping himself. Anita tries to stop him but is thrown accidentally across the room, so, naturally reaches for a knife. Yes. The perfect way to stop your boyfriends brawling. She cuts open her hand and starts screaming at Richard about how he hurt her so badly and that he shouldn’t even touch her.

None of this is Richard’s fault. This is JC’s fault entirely. Why aren’t you screaming at him?

JC sleazes over and says how sorry he is about it and fusses over her. I see what you’re doing. It’s repugnant. JC admits he was teasing, but in a way to suggest that it’s all Richard’s fault for being a nasty little werewolf. Richard is forced to make a grovelling apology but Anita is decent enough to say that JC has staged this to drive a wedge between them. She throws JC out. Not before he demands that Richard and Anita not have sex.

I really hate JC. I really hate him. I want to chop him into little pieces with a crochet hook.

Richard starts getting Anita’s bags, while Anita thinks that JC would never have dared to hurt her and how Richard could have killed her.

Anita, you were shoved a bit and you slit open your own hand. JC keeps trying to rape you. Get a little perspective.

 

14 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘The Killing Dance’ chapter twenty two

  1. “She cuts open her hand and starts screaming at Richard about how he hurt her so badly and that he shouldn’t even touch her…Richard is forced to make a grovelling apology”
    Holy gas lighting, Batman!

  2. I feel bad for poor Judith. She had trouble connecting with her stepdaughter, which is hardly evil or even abnormal. And yet, she gets treated like she took little Anita out back and flayed her with a bullwhip if she didn’t work hard enough in the coal mines that day. She is probably a nice, charming woman who sadly, missed a golden opportunity to smother her stepdaughter with a pillow and spare the world a lot of pain.

    • I feel incredibly sorry for Judith. It can’t have been easy to marry a man who lost his wife tragically, and feeling that you’re inadequate or trying to diminish her memory while trying to make your love valid. And then you’ve got his daughter, who resents you for taking her mother’s place and is disrespectful and refuses to connect with you or the child you have with her father. Judith is one of the most sympathetic characters in the entire series, and we never even see her.

      • Eh, as much crap as I give Anita, I don’t automatically dismiss Anita feeling she was being subject to racism from her stepmother. Plenty of biracial children do in these situations.

  3. How is it logical to think that if he thought Anita’s mother was the most beautiful woman in the world he wouldn’t have married someone who doesn’t look like her? People can be attracted to different kinds of people. I dated a blonde haired, blue eyed guy and then I dated a Turkish guy who had dark features. I thought they were both really attractive. People aren’t attracted to just one type of person!

    • Because in Anita’s mind, only a woman who resembles her can be attractive. Don’t worry, however; attractive men can come in all shapes and sizes… Of girly with giant hair and usually dressed like some kind of faux-historic prostitute clown.

  4. There’s so much I want to say, but I’ll focus on what pissed me off the most:

    JC is a manipulative, cock-sucking piece of shit. He’s yet another character embodying the idea that physical appearances make up for horrible personality traits. And while he says that he won’t rape Anita (yeah, we just saw how long that claim held up), completely forgetting that he’s already metaphorically raped her once before (or did he forget that? Given LKH’s inability to maintain continuity, I wouldn’t be surprised).

    And despite being a worthless stain on the face of the planet, all his bad behavior is excused because he’s LKH’s favorite wet-dream – a guy who’ll do nothing but tell her how beautiful and flawless she is, and how all those mean blonde girls were just jealous bitches.

    I used to think he was funny. Now I want him to die. I want him flayed, drawn and quartered, and the remains set on fire along with all his stupid frilly shirts. And then I want to piss on the ashes for good measure.

    Sorry for that, but this just exceeded my bullshit tolerance.

  5. Anita does gets better after a while,she’s not bitter her father remarried,she’s btter because she felt like she was not a part of her family anymore, she felt totally alone in her family,if you read the other books, it will be revealed out the reason anita is bitter is because Judith always went out of her away to make sure anita was excluded.

    • I am reading all the Anita Blake books. I’m currently on book 12 and I’ve yet to see a single example of how Judith went out of her way to exclude Anita. Rather, it seems that Anita goes out of her way to exclude her family from her life. After all, we’ve never seen her father. We don’t even know his name.

Leave a Reply

