A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Bloody Bones’ chapter eight


Mon dieu, it’s hot today! My room has been like an oven all day – so I guess that means it’s time for the next Anita Blake chapter!

People don’t camp much think darkness falls from the sky. It doesn’t. Darkness slides from the trees and fills them first, then spreads outward to the open places.

Oh, I guess that’s why the Sahara desert is dark at night. All those trees spreading nasty darkness.

Personally, I was always under the impression that since darkness is the lack of light, it occurred naturally from the Earth’s rotation around the sun. But Anita ‘I have a degree in science’ Blake is proving me incorrect once more.

Then again, according to tumblr fangirls’ reactions, darkness in the universe might solely be spread by Benedict Cumberbatch’s crotch in this promotional image for Star Trek Into Darkness. I don’t really know. I can only speculate.

Anita’s reaction after being shunted from that gory crime scene is to think of food, specifically steak tartare. Lawrence is appalled by this, and by how she’s ignoring how he vomited everywhere and may not be in the mood for raw meat. I do feel that I have to point out that steak tartare does not look like a bloody red lump thrown in the middle of a plate, but is rather elegant instead. So Lawrence seeing a similarity between the dish and what he just saw would be caused by getting steak tartare served to him by someone off the side of the road who only understood that the dish was raw.

Anita, after changing back into her impractical heels, decides that they ought to go to Bloody Bones. Hinty hinty. She doesn’t trust Stirling and wants to talk to the Bouviers. She won’t raise the dead for someone she doesn’t trust, and who dared to question her judgement.

“Don’t you want to know why Stirling had to have that mountain? Why the Bouviers’ mountain and not someone else’s?”

It has a nice view? It’s in the right position to align with the stars and summon our alien overlords? On that mountain he became a man? Look, just because he question why you brought a suitcase of guns does not make him immediately at the heart of some web of conspiracy.

Larry looked at me. “You’ve been hanging around the police too long. You don’t trust anybody.”

“The cops didn’t teach me that, Larry; it’s natural talent.”

Your only natural talent is making roadkill drag itself to your body, Anita. Then again, she must have picked it up somewhere because it certainly wasn’t from those idiots in RPIT.

The two drive to Bloody Bones – it must be a nightmare to advertise that place – and Anita thinks ‘UGH vampire hunting a night is such a drag’. Who asked you to go vampire hunting? She complains about Freemont and about how police forces won’t pay for the equipment needed to take down supernatural criminals. I’m going to ask it again: why. Why does the American government have such a profound disinterest in protecting the American people? Do they go ‘nah, fire engines are useless, let’s get rid of them’? No! So why is it that silver bullets are though to be so unnecessary?

Anita wishes she had a badge to shove it in Freemont’s face. Real mature Anita.

 

3 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Bloody Bones’ chapter eight

  1. Why is she saying this now? If I hired someone to perform a service for me, paid for them to travel to me, I would expect more than a disrespectful woman who dresses inappropriately, shoves her arms in my face when I ask a reasonable question and then decides that she gets to choose whether or not she’s actually going to do what she’s been hired to do, based on no evidence at all. In the real world, there is no way that Anita would last a week in any sort of business.

  2. Everything I wanted to say in my comment was just said by Harley. So I’ll just thank you for that picture of Benedict I suppose lol

Leave a Reply

