A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘The Lunatic Cafe’ chapter thirty three


Just a head’s up guys – I’m going to be at Papa Smith’s over the Easter weekend and away from the computer and Anita Blake. I won’t be posting any updates until Wednesday, so you’ll have to find snark and bitchery somewhere else until then. Sorry!

Anita and Ronnie are heading on over to bully George Smitz.  Richard sent Gabriel and Raina as backup. Okay, I’m fairly sure that JC performed a lobotomy with a shovel on him between chapters because he would know not to send those two out amongst people. That, or LKH is setting up a conflict badly.  Either is an option.

Anita spends a page describing what they are wearing. I don’t know why, other than to be snitty about Rania wearing fur. Anita boasts about her morals on fur and I want to strangle her. I get it, I get it, you’re the best person in the world and Raina is the most despicable bitch, ever. Stop ramming it down my throat, please. I don’t enjoy it. I’m not Linda Lovelace.

Gabriel is wearing an gauntlet. He then boasts about how much being close to death, or anything that hurts, is his perfect idea of sex. Again, I don’t know why. I don’t know why anything is in this book. I don’t know why people told LKH she could write.

Ronnie and Anita tell the gruesome twosome about what they think George Smitz has done and that they think he might be behind all the kidnappings. I’m not sure what they’re basing this on.

Anita has a sudden realisation that Gabriel was in the snuff film. Dun dun dun! He’s the crazy people eating leopard! Well, he was going to be evil. He’s been feeling up Rania for the whole chapter.

He stayed there, chin indenting the upholstery. You couldn’t see his shoulders, so his head looked disembodied, like a head on a pike.

Does LKH have a bet with her friends to get as many stupid similes as she can in her books?

Anyway, they’ve all driven up to the house and Anita is convinced that George Smitz is the kidnapper. Gee, she’s so smart and insightful.

3 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘The Lunatic Cafe’ chapter thirty three

  1. “Anita boasts about her morals on fur and I want to strangle her.”

    Don’t forget to bash her head a few times for hypocrisy. Wasn’t she whining in a previous book about how her boss won’t let her wear her favorite leather jacket to work? Where do you think that leather came from, Anita?

Leave a Reply

