A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Circus of the Damned’ chapter twenty nine


Anita is meeting Karl Inger at Chip-Away Lake, which I had to look up on the internet because I just could not believe that it was a real place. I’m sorry if you live in St. Louis, but Chip-Away Lake is a really silly name.  It sounds like it was hiding behind the door when the names were being handed out.

There are very few people here and it’s all rather ominous because Anita’s fucking stupid. She asks Inger what he wants but he denies that he wants anything. Anita apologises because apparently being in suspicious circumstances has the unfortunate side effect of making you cynical. I mean, why shouldn’t she trust a zealot who ran around with guns a few nights ago?

I guess most people aren’t used to being suspected of wrongdoing before they’ve done anything wrong.

He did do something wrong. You were almost killed by his group.

Besides I was carrying two knives, three crosses, and a gun. Innocent or guilty, I was prepared. […] It was time to go armed to the teeth, ready for bear, or dragon, or vampire.

I don’t think two knives could take down a dragon.

2 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Circus of the Damned’ chapter twenty nine

  1. ….maybe it comes from the word Chippewa? As in the Chippawa/Ojibwe people? I don’t know if they lived in Missouri though, I think they were further north.

    We’ve got a Lake Lucerne here, and while I originally thought that was a very pretty name, it turns out it’s just a fancy term for alfalfa.

    Considering that dragons are (albeit bordering on extinct) and she’ll encounter one in a later book, that is a grave mistake for her to make, yes.

Leave a Reply

