A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Circus of the Damned’ chapter twenty seven


My cupcakes went down well last night. The only downside is that my right shoulder has almost entirely seized up. Just my luck that I needed to video edit today!

Jean-Claude lay in the middle of a white canopied bed. His skin was only slightly less white than the sheets. He was dressed in a nightshirt. Lace fell down the white collar, forming a lace window around his chest. Lace flowed from the sleeves, nearly hiding his hands. It should have looked feminine, Jean-Claude made it utterly masculine. How could any man wear a white lace gown and not look silly? Of course, he wasn’t a man. That must be it.

Two things: what is your obsession with lace, dear god, you go on and on and on and on about it. And of course men can wear white lace gowns if they want to. Stop with your gender pigeon holes.

His black hair curled in the lace collar. Touchable.  I shook my head. Not even in my dreams. I was dressed in something long and silky. It was a shade of blue almost as dark as his eyes. My arms looked very white against it. Jean-Claude got to his knees and reached his hand out to me. An invitation.

I shook my head.

“It is only a dream, ma petite. Will you not come to me even here?”

No, you Caucasian Hispanic woman.

Anita gets woken from her symbolic dream of symbolism by a phone call from Irving, the werewolf journalist. He wants to know if it’s true that Jeremy Ruebens saved her from the Master of the City last night…. hang on. He knows that the Master of the City is not Aztec Joe. He interviewed JC in the last book. So he should know that in that respect the story is BS.

“I need a quote for the paper. I’m trying to give a chance for a rebuttal.”

“A rebuttal?”

“Hey, I was an English major.”

“That explains so much.”

…. that explains why he was using a perfectly common word? Anita says yes to being interviewed and they meet up in a coffee shop. Anita points out that Irving does in fact know that JC is the supposed Master.

“I know this Indian guy was not Jean-Claude.”

You’re such a clever journalist, Irving. You can’t tell the difference between being Hispanic and being Indian, and Anita doesn’t point this out. Irving says that maybe he should check it out with JC but Anita says that having the Humans First group think that Aztec Joe is the master might not be a bad thing. She actually has to point out to Irving that it won’t get JC killed because – and say it with me folks – everyone in the Anita Blake universe is stupid.

Short chapter once again. I hate short chapters.

2 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Circus of the Damned’ chapter twenty seven

  1. By Indian I think he means Native American, which Aztec people technically are, not South Asian.

    But everyone in the Anita Blake universe is indeed REALLY stupid.

  2. “It should have looked feminine, Jean-Claude made it utterly masculine. How could any man wear a white lace gown and not look silly?”

    Answer: he can’t. Sorry, Hamilton, but it’s just not possible, I don’t care how much you insist that this is so masculine and sexy, but it’s just not. At least he’s not playing with his nipples this time.

    And I’m sorry to say this, Dottie, but if a straight guy ever wore something like that in public, his other guy friends would mock him mercilessly for it. Probably some of his female friends, too. Because damn.

Leave a Reply

