A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Guilty Pleasures’ chapter forty eight


LAST CHAPTER. IS THREE PARAGRAPHS.

Might as well quote the whole fucking thing.

Edward had a dislocated shoulder and two broken bones in his arm, plus one vampire bite. I had fourteen stitches. We both healed. Philip’s body was moved to a local cemetery. Every time I work in it, I have to go by and say hello. Even though I know Philip is dead and doesn’t care. Graves are for the living, not the dead.

Oh, I was confused. I didn’t realise we bury living people in the ground.

It gives us soemthing to concentrate on instead of the fact that our loved one is rotting under the ground. The dead don’t care about pretty flowers and carved marble statues.

Jean-Claude sent me a dozen pure white, long stemmed roses. The card read, “If you have answered the question truthfully, come dancing with me.”

  • what the hell does that mean
  • geez, what a cliché.

I wrote “No” on the back of the card and slipped it under the door at Guilty Pleasures, during daylight hours. I had been attracted to Jean-Claude. Maybe I still was. So what? He thought it changed things. It didn’t. All I had to do was visit Philip’s grave to know that. Oh, hell, I didn’t even have to go that far. I knew who and what I am. I am The Executioner, and I don’t date vampires. I kill them.

What did I think of ‘Guilty Pleasures’?

I feel kind of neutral about it. Honestly. Yes, I thought it was stupid in places, but never truly awful. The plot was so little used that it felt like there wasn’t one at all and the pacing was absolutely abysmal. I do not enjoy Hamilton’s writing style, which leaves actions and motivations confused. Her characters are not especially interesting; I did like Anita at first, but she turned into a hypocritical bigot and lost all her brains. The mythology is muddled and poorly explained, and I hate the structure. I do not like small pointless chapters. They only disrupt the action.

Tomorrow, I’ll be starting the Laughing Corpse. And it better have some better editing…

2 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Guilty Pleasures’ chapter forty eight

  1. I’m so happy you’ll be doing the other books! Yeah, GP isn’t *bad* but it’s not my favorite of the earlier books (aka before everything goes to shit), it’s just pretty much the stage-setter for the world imo. However, re-reading it via your blog (I haven’t read any of the them since high school) shows me a lot of the flaws in it (pacing problems, villains not doing anything villainous, no payoff after buildup, characters jumping too fast to the correct conclusions, odd dialogue, etc.) that are present in Skin Trade (17th book, the one I’m currently sporking) to much larger degrees (it’s almost unbearable at points, actually) so I don’t know if she’s gotten worse at these flaws, or if they’re just more noticeable since there’s less good content around them anymore. I did like The Laughing Corpse (no spoilers, but the monster is one of my FAVES) but there are also some huge issues there regarding race and disability that I’m interested to see your take on. I’m also looking forward to see if it’s as good as I remember from back when the AB series was the first ever urban fantasy/modern vampire book I had ever read, if the flaws from Guilty Pleasures are improved on or not, etc. Again, so thrilled you’ll be doing another, I’ve really enjoyed this one! Also, my fave chars from this one were Nikolaos (I just like child vamps a lot for some reason, plus she could call ratties) and Rafael, did you have any?

    • I’ll say Ronnie because she had some good common sense. I think I’d have liked Nikolaos more if she’d been more original; I just found her to be a bad copy of Claudia from Interview with the Vampire, and I wasn’t able to get past that.

Leave a Reply

