A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Guilty Pleasures’ chapter thirty one


Ugh. I’m the middle of watching Sucker Punch. I do not want to be reading this.

Anita goes home and hopes she’ll get some sleep. Her feet hurt from those evil high heels. Her answering machine is full of messages. Friend Ronnie has set up a meeting with some vampire hating group tomorrow. Edward phoned up to gloat about coming to get her.

I locked the door to the bathroom and laid my gun on the top of the toilet. I was beginning to get a little paranoid. Or maybe realistic was a better word.

She has decided that Zachary has been killing people to feed the voodoo charm that’s been keeping him alive. Even though in the last few chapters she had no idea what the deal was with Zachary.

He had to be stopped. If I hadn’t interfered tonight, he would have been stopped.

How did you work that out? The vampires were using him to raise a zombie! He wasn’t out slaughtering people to sustain his life! This is a massive leap forwards with no plot to feed it! What is going on? All I know for sure at this point are that I don’t like Anita very much as a character any more and Edward is going to show up tomorrow evening to kill her. I have no idea how she is going to solve the case of the murdered vampires or if she even cares.

She has a dream about Jean-Claude and blackberries. It’s boring so instead let’s pretend that it involves him sitting naked in a bath of blackberries, and then being staked for the crime of being such an obvious French vampire stereotype.

I have under a hundred pages left. Again, I am reading a book where the plot does not make an appearance until the very end.

2 thoughts on “A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Guilty Pleasures’ chapter thirty one

  1. Ugh, the blackberries. I have no idea whether it was supposed to be sexy or creepy, but it was just vaguely gross and sticky-sounding.
    Also, Sucker Punch is The Worst Movie Ever. Shame, Zac Snyder.

    • I kind of like Sucker Punch? At least, I understand the meta nature of trying to de-construct video game sexism, even if it’s not properly explored and executed in film – Snyder was not the right person to do that.

Leave a Reply

