A review of Charlaine Harris’s ‘Dead to the World’ chapter thirteen


I’ve got some notes for y’all before we get on with today’s review.

Much love for you my followers.  I really appreciate the fact you keep reading my scribblings, it means a lot to me.  I love you as much as Sheldon loves trains.

Number two: here is an article I wrote for my paper, if you are interested in reading my proper stuff.

And on with the review.

Pam decided to burn the store down, leaving the bodies of Hallow’s coven inside.

Well, it’s not like any of them had family that cared for them or loved them.  They were evil witches.  They have no loved ones.  All the evil witches have been killed, aside from two, including Hallow.  One were has been killed and one vampire.  Considering what happened in the events of the battle, that’s really good.  That’s a really good result.

Being a bartender at Fangtasia is a really high risk job.  That’s two dead in under, what, half a year?  And I bet the pay is bad.  Although you can always glamour people into giving you tips.

The vampires are going to have to torture Hallow into removing the spell, so for the moment Eric is still without his memory and comes back to Bon Temps with Sookie.

When I turned on the light, Debbie Pelt was smiling at me.

She had been sitting in the dark at my kitchen, and she had a gun in her hand.

Without saying a word, she fired at me.

BLOODY FUCKING HELL THAT CAME COMPLETELY OUT OF NOWHERE WHY WOULD SHE DO THAT?  WHY?? ERIC JUMPS ACROSS AND TAKES THE BULLET AND FALLS TO THE FLOOR AND OH MY GOD OH MY GOD.

From behind the water heater, I yanked the shotgun I’d taken from Jason’s house.  I pumped it – one of the scariest sounds in the world – and I shot Debbie Pelt.

There wasn’t much left of Debbie’s upper chest and neck.

THAT IS HORRIFIC DEAR GOD WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT.  WELL, OBVIOUSLY UNDERSTAND WHY BUT WHY DID DEBBIE HAVE TO BREAK IN AND GET HER HEAD AND SHOULDERS BLOWN OFF BY A SHOT GUN.

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

WHO CAN SOOKIE CALL TO HELP HER IN CLEANING BITS OF BODY PART FROM HER KITCHEN.

The law? Ha.

Uh….. why not?  That’s why they’re there, you know, to help when crimes are committed.  It’s their job.

Sookie forces Eric awake and gives him bottled blood to help him recover from the bullet wound.  I can’t help but notice you’re not phoning the police.  He asks what’s happened.

‘I killed another human,’ I said.  That made two in one night.

I shuddered and turned away from the ragged shell of bone and flesh that had once held Debbie Pelt.

PLEASE STOP DESCRIBING DEBBIE PELT’S BODY KKTHX.

Eric tries to make her feel better, as she didn’t really kill anyone, just some bitch who tried to kill her twice already.  That’s…. a terrible excuse Eric.  Get better at making excuses.

‘I was never a Christian,’ Eric said. Now, that didn’t surprise me. ‘But I can’t imagine a belief system that would tell you to sit still and get slaughtered.’

i’m sorry what bullshit is that.  My exact reaction, in my written notes in my book, was ‘HA HA HA NOT FUCKING LIKELY’.

I can’t help but notice that you’ve still not phoned the police.

Eric and Sookie then proceed to clean the kitchen.  Eric takes away the body in Debbie’s car and hides it someplace.

I can’t help but notice that you’ve still not phoned the police.

The chapter ends with them having done this.

….

uh

is it bad that I really think they ought to have phoned the police?

HERE IS A LIST PROVING THAT THEY SHOULD HAVE GONE TO THE POLICE:

  • I believe that you could enter a plea of the murder being justified, seeing as you were defending yourself from a woman trying to kill you and had broken into your home to do so.
  • There would have been evidence of her gun being fired.
  • The bullet from Eric would be proof that he had been shot.
  • Speaking of that, it’d be very easy to prove that the bullet had been fired from Debbie’s gun.
  • There would be clear signs that she had broken into your home.
  • There is her parked car across the road.
  • Everyone can attest that she hated you.
  • Also you have a vampire with you that can influence the minds of vampires.
  • Duh.

I don’t understand why Harris puts such a negative spin on the police in her books.  Did they not solve a crime that was committed against her?  They’re portrayed as such incompetent prejudiced twats who enjoy petty cruelties and violence.  I don’t understand it.  I thought Americans, in a very broad generalised way, were extremely proud of their police force.  This is more in line with the incredibly cynical view that the British have of their police force.  Actually, it’s even worse.  Our police may be portrayed as drunken racists, but at least they’re competent drunken racists.

Visit Dottie’s video channel today!  You will feel better in all things if you do.

One thought on “A review of Charlaine Harris’s ‘Dead to the World’ chapter thirteen

  1. Really, it’s fascinating to hear the perspective of someone from a country where the police are trusted rather than considered a necessary evil by large sections of the country.

Leave a Reply

